Best Neighborhoods in Northern Virginia for First-Time Buyers in 2026
Short answer: The best places to live in Northern Virginia on a first-time buyer budget are not the ones with the famous names. The Northern Virginia median was $750,000 in July 2026, down 1.3% on the year, with active listings up 19.6%. A first-time buyer working with roughly $500,000 to $650,000 has real choices in Alexandria’s Landmark corridor, Woodbridge, Dale City, Manassas, Dumfries, Lorton, Sterling, Centreville and south Reston. The important 2026 detail: every bit of the inventory growth is in condos, up 41.1%, and townhouses, up 33.0%. Detached inventory actually shrank 2.5%. The market is opening up specifically for the buyer who will accept attached housing. A JB Financing mortgage adviser can tell you what each of these areas means for your monthly payment.
Most "best neighborhoods" articles are written from a list of places somebody likes. This one is written from the medians, because the only question that matters to a first-time buyer in this region is whether a place is reachable on the budget they actually have. Where a neighborhood is genuinely affordable, we say so and show the number. Where a neighborhood is marketed as affordable and is not, we say that too, and there are more of those than you would expect.
Every price figure below comes with its source and its period attached, because Northern Virginia data gets quoted loosely and the gap between a county median and a ZIP code median is often a hundred thousand dollars. We finance purchases across all four jurisdictions as mortgage lenders in Virginia, Maryland, DC and West Virginia, which means we see what these budgets actually clear, and what they do not.
What affordable actually means here in 2026
Start with the regional benchmark, because it sets the frame for everything after it. The Northern Virginia Association of Realtors reported a median sold price of $750,000 for July 2026, down 1.3% year over year, with 3,025 active listings, up 19.6%, and a median 21 days on market. Months of supply rose to 2.13. Statewide, Virginia’s median was $448,000, up 3%.
| Measure | July 2026 | Change on the year |
|---|---|---|
| Northern Virginia median sold price | $750,000 | Down 1.3% |
| Active listings | 3,025 | Up 19.6% |
| Median days on market | 21 | Up 5.0% |
| Months of supply | 2.13 | Up 14.8% |
| Virginia statewide median | $448,000 | Up 3.0% |
Sources: Northern Virginia Association of Realtors and Bright MLS, July 2026 market statistics; Virginia REALTORS July 2026 home sales report. The NVAR region covers Fairfax County, Arlington County and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax and Falls Church, plus the towns of Vienna, Herndon and Clifton. It does not include Prince William, Loudoun or Stafford.
A falling median with rising inventory is a buyer’s market forming slowly, not a crash. But the headline understates how much has changed for first-time buyers specifically, because of what the new inventory is made of.
The finding that should shape your search
Break the July 2026 inventory down by property type and the picture changes completely.
| Property type | Active listings, July 2026 | Change on the year |
|---|---|---|
| Condominiums | 1,274 | Up 41.1% |
| Attached, meaning townhouses | 617 | Up 33.0% |
| Detached single family | 1,134 | Down 2.5% |
Source: Northern Virginia Association of Realtors, July 2026 market statistics.
Read that table twice. Condo listings are up more than forty percent while detached listings have shrunk. If you are a first-time buyer, the market has opened up for you and not for the move-up buyer looking for a house with a yard. That is unusual, and it is the strongest argument for buying attached this year rather than stretching for detached. Our breakdown of the monthly payment on a $400,000 house across the DMV shows what that decision does to the numbers.
How we picked these areas
Three rules, applied without exception. First, a place only makes the list if its median sale price is meaningfully below the $750,000 regional median, verified against a published source. Second, we say which metric each number is, because a rolling three-month median and a single-month median are different animals and mixing them is how bad advice gets made. Third, where the sample is too small for the median to mean anything, we show the sale count and tell you to discount it.
A note on the numbers. County and ZIP medians below are rolling three-month medians from Redfin, most of them covering the three months ending July 2026. The regional and inventory figures are single-month figures from NVAR and Bright MLS for July 2026. They are not the same metric and we have not blended them into one table.
The county picture: where the medians actually sit
Before the neighborhood detail, the jurisdictions. This is the map a first-time buyer should have in their head, because it explains why the same budget feels generous in one county and hopeless in the next.
| Jurisdiction | Median sale price | Change on the year | Homes sold | Median days on market |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winchester City | $373,804 | Down 4.2% | 26 | 62 |
| Warren County | $429,000 | Up 8.5% | 58 | 46 |
| Frederick County, VA | $429,000 | Down 6.8% | 135 | 40 |
| Manassas Park City | $428,790 | Down 24.4% | 16 | 39 |
| Culpeper County | $503,000 | Up 9.5% | 72 | 45 |
| Manassas City | $510,503 | Up 3.1% | 51 | 33 |
| Clarke County | $523,465 | Up 5.2% | 13 | 44 |
| Stafford County | $577,307 | Up 5.5% | 216 | 46 |
| Prince William County | $597,093 | Up 1.2% | 504 | 36 |
| Fauquier County | $697,953 | Up 1.5% | 104 | 41 |
| Alexandria City | $709,645 | Up 6.3% | 662 | 35 |
| Fairfax City | $716,000 | Down 8.8% | 106 | 34 |
| Fairfax County | $752,792 | Down 1.0% | 1,176 | 34 |
| Loudoun County | $807,382 | Up 6.2% | 522 | 38 |
| Arlington County | $825,030 | Up 10.0% | 228 | 39 |
| Falls Church City | $1,052,032 | Down 15.6% | 17 | 29 |
Source: Redfin housing market data, rolling three-month median sale price. Most rows cover the three months ending July 2026; Manassas Park, Culpeper, Frederick County and Fairfax City cover the three months ending June 2026. Active inventory is not published at this level for the independent cities and smaller counties.
Treat four of those rows with caution. Manassas Park closed 16 sales in the period, Clarke County 13, Falls Church City 17 and Winchester 26. At those volumes a median moves on the mix of houses that happened to sell, not on prices. Manassas Park is almost certainly not down 24% in real terms.
Loudoun deserves a second figure because it is the county most often misread. On a cleaner single-month basis, NVAR put the Loudoun median at $813,000 in July 2026, up 7.4%, on 510 closed sales, with 868 active listings and 21 days on market. Loudoun is not the affordable alternative to Fairfax any more, and has not been for several years. Our guide to buying in Loudoun County goes through what that means for financing.
The best places to live in Northern Virginia at entry-level prices
This is the working list. Every ZIP below has a verified median under the $750,000 regional figure, and they are grouped by the budget that reaches them.
Under $500,000: two real options, and the outer ring
| Area | ZIP | Median sale price | Change on the year | Homes sold | Days on market |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alexandria, Landmark and Van Dorn | 22304 | $458,898 | Up 4.1% | 167 | 38 |
| Woodbridge, Route 1 and Potomac Mills | 22191 | $499,889 | Flat | 179 | 39 |
| Winchester City | n/a | $373,804 | Down 4.2% | 26 | 62 |
| Front Royal, Warren County | 22630 | $408,909 | Up 2.2% | 163 | 44 |
| Fredericksburg City | 22401 | $479,893 | Down 2.1% | 77 | 39 |
Source: Redfin, rolling three-month median sale price, three months ending July 2026.
Alexandria 22304, the Landmark and Van Dorn corridor. At $458,898 this is the cheapest median inside the Beltway by a wide margin, roughly $290,000 below the regional figure and $250,000 below Alexandria City as a whole. That gap exists because the stock is heavily condominium. It is inside the Beltway, it is on the Blue Line at Van Dorn Street, and 167 homes sold in the period, so the median is solid. For a buyer who wants Metro access and will accept a condo, nothing else in the region is close.
Woodbridge 22191. At $499,889 with 179 sales, this is the most liquid genuinely entry-level submarket in Northern Virginia. Unlike 22304, half a million dollars here reaches the median home overall rather than a condo, which in this submarket means a townhouse or an older detached house. It sits on the VRE Fredericksburg Line and on the I-95 Express Lanes. Run the numbers at that price with a payment calculator before you assume it is out of reach.
Winchester, Front Royal and Fredericksburg City are cheaper still, and they are a different proposition entirely. Winchester’s median is $373,804 but it sat 62 days on market on 26 sales, and it is well over an hour from the Beltway. These are real options for someone who works locally or works from home. They are hard options for someone commuting to Washington five days a week.
$500,000 to $600,000: the Prince William belt
| Area | ZIP | Median sale price | Change on the year | Homes sold | Days on market |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manassas, city core | 20110 | $532,260 | Down 4.1% | 196 | 32 |
| Dale City and west Woodbridge | 22193 | $534,879 | Up 1.9% | 266 | 33 |
| Dumfries | 22026 | $595,867 | Down 6.5% | 88 | 42 |
| Stafford, north along I-95 | 22554 | $584,770 | Up 0.8% | 288 | 41 |
Source: Redfin, rolling three-month medians. Manassas 20110 and Dale City 22193 cover the three months ending June 2026; Dumfries and Stafford 22554 cover the three months ending July 2026.
Dale City 22193 closed 266 sales and Stafford 22554 closed 288, the two highest counts on this entire list. That volume matters more than most buyers realize: a liquid submarket means you are not bidding against the whole region for the only listing that fits, and it means the comparable sales your appraiser needs actually exist. It is one of the quiet reasons files close cleanly in Prince William and get complicated in Clarke County. Our Virginia mortgage page compares the counties side by side.
Manassas City at $532,260 and Manassas Park next door are on the VRE Manassas Line, which is the strongest commuter argument in the sub-$550,000 band. Both, however, carry the highest property tax rates in the region, and that is a large enough factor that it gets its own section below.
$600,000 to $700,000: where Fairfax opens up
| Area | ZIP | Median sale price | Change on the year | Homes sold | Days on market |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lorton | 22079 | $609,865 | Down 11.9% | 91 | 32 |
| Sterling, Route 7 corridor | 20164 | $629,860 | Up 10.7% | 120 | 32 |
| Centreville | 20120 | $657,354 | Down 2.6% | 154 | 30 |
| Reston, south and Hunter Mill | 20191 | $664,852 | Up 1.5% | 163 | 25 |
| Springfield | 22150 | $684,845 | Flat | 64 | 35 |
| Burke | 22015 | $696,095 | Down 8.5% | 186 | 25 |
| Kingstowne, Alexandria address | 22315 | $699,745 | Flat | 116 | 32 |
Source: Redfin, rolling three-month medians. Springfield 22150 covers the three months ending June 2026; the rest cover the three months ending July 2026.
Reston 20191 is the standout. At $664,852 it is $85,000 below the regional median, it sold 163 homes, it moved in 25 days, and it is on the Silver Line. A Metro-served Fairfax County ZIP at that price is the closest thing to an anomaly on this list, and the 25-day market tells you other buyers have noticed.
Lorton at $609,865 is the biggest mover, down 11.9% on the year across 91 sales. It is on the VRE Fredericksburg Line, it is in Fairfax County with Fairfax County schools, and it is now cheaper than Sterling. A double-digit decline on a decent sale count is the kind of signal worth acting on rather than waiting out.
Sterling 20164 went the other way, up 10.7%, and it is the one area on this list with no rail at all. Centreville, Springfield, Burke and Kingstowne all sit in the $650,000 to $700,000 band with Fairfax County schools. Springfield and Kingstowne have Blue Line access at Franconia-Springfield and Van Dorn respectively; Burke has VRE at Burke Center; Centreville has neither. That single distinction is worth more to a daily commuter than any of the price differences between them.
The outer ring: cheaper, and further
Culpeper County at $503,000, up 9.5%, Warren County at $429,000, up 8.5%, and Frederick County VA at $429,000, down 6.8%, are all materially below anything inside the Beltway. Days on market run 40 to 46, roughly double the inner-ring pace. Clarke County’s $523,465 rests on 13 sales and should be treated as directional only.
Something worth knowing before you look out here: these counties are not all inside the Washington metro area for lending purposes, and they are not all inside the same Virginia Housing limit area either. Both facts change what you qualify for. The program detail is in our guide to Virginia down payment assistance programs.
Cheapest places to live in Northern Virginia, and the ones only marketed that way
These come up constantly in first-time buyer conversations, usually described as the cheaper alternative to somewhere else. All six are above the regional median.
| Area | ZIP | Median sale price | Change on the year | Homes sold |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bristow | 20136 | $786,822 | Up 8.5% | 113 |
| Annandale | 22003 | $824,814 | Up 11.5% | 190 |
| Lovettsville | 20180 | $824,817 | Down 0.3% | 40 |
| Leesburg | 20175 | $850,561 | Up 4.2% | 155 |
| Purcellville, Round Hill and Hillsboro | 20132 | $874,806 | Down 2.7% | 85 |
| Falls Church, Seven Corners | 22044 | $892,252 | Up 14.4% | 37 |
Source: Redfin, rolling three-month medians, three months ending July 2026 except Bristow and Annandale, three months ending June 2026.
Western Loudoun is the one that surprises people most. Lovettsville and Purcellville are routinely described as the affordable end of the county, and both sit above $824,000, which is above the Northern Virginia median and above Loudoun’s own. Annandale, long a value play inside the Beltway, is up 11.5% and now sits at $824,814. Bristow at $786,822 is not the cheaper Gainesville. If your budget is under $700,000, none of these six are a realistic target, and the honest answer is better than three months of losing offers. Start from an affordability check and let the number pick the map, rather than the other way round.
The rail question, and roughly what it costs
In this region the commute is priced into the house. The Silver Line extension opened in November 2022 and put six new stations along the Dulles corridor: Reston Town Center, Herndon, Innovation Center and Dulles Airport in Fairfax County, then Loudoun Gateway and Ashburn, the first Metrorail stations ever built in Loudoun County.
| Entry-level area | Rail access |
|---|---|
| Reston 20191, Herndon 20170, Ashburn 20147 | Metro Silver Line |
| Alexandria Landmark 22304, Kingstowne 22315 | Metro Blue and Yellow at Van Dorn Street and Franconia-Springfield |
| Springfield 22150 | Metro Blue Line plus VRE at Franconia-Springfield |
| Burke 22015 | VRE Manassas Line at Burke Center |
| Manassas 20110 and Manassas Park | VRE Manassas Line |
| Woodbridge 22191, Lorton 22079 | VRE Fredericksburg Line |
| Fredericksburg 22401, north Stafford 22554 | VRE Fredericksburg Line at Brooke and Leeland Road |
| Dale City 22193, Dumfries 22026, Centreville 20120, Sterling 20164 | No rail. OmniRide commuter bus and the I-95 or I-66 corridors |
Sources: WMATA Silver Line station opening announcement; VRE station list and combined schedule effective May 4, 2026; OmniRide published route schedules.
On the VRE timetable in force since May 2026, Broad Run to Washington Union Station runs about one hour nineteen minutes, and Spotsylvania to Union Station about one hour forty-four. Those are the two ends of the line, so most of the ZIPs above are shorter than that.
What the Metro premium costs, in dollars
You can price it by subtracting two published medians. Sterling 20164, no rail, sits at $629,860. Ashburn 20147, Silver Line terminus, sits at $732,330. Herndon 20170, also Silver Line, sits at $719,837. The gap between a rail ZIP and its nearest non-rail comparable in that corridor runs roughly $70,000 to $100,000.
That is a real trade, not a rhetorical one. At current rates, $90,000 of additional loan is roughly $580 a month before taxes and insurance. Whether the Silver Line is worth $580 a month to you is a personal question, but it should be an explicit one. Our breakdown of the payment on a $700,000 house in Northern Virginia shows exactly where that money goes.
The commute numbers people actually quote
| County | Mean travel time to work, 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Warren | 37.8 minutes | 39.7 | 40.1 |
| Prince William | 36.4 minutes | 37.5 | 38.1 |
| Stafford | 36.1 minutes | 37.6 | 37.9 |
| Loudoun | 30.1 minutes | 31.1 | 32.2 |
| Fairfax | 28.9 minutes | 29.5 | 30.4 |
| Arlington | 26.2 minutes | 26.6 | 27.7 |
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey five-year estimates, mean travel time to work for workers. This is travel to all workplaces, not travel to downtown Washington.
Read that as a trend rather than a promise. Every county fell between 2022 and 2024, which is telework showing up in the data, and it is one reason the outer counties have held their price gains. It is not a door-to-door estimate for a five-day commute to a downtown office, and nobody publishes a reliable one of those.
Property tax: the line that moves your payment more than you think
Two buyers with identical loans in different jurisdictions can be more than $400 a month apart on tax alone. Rates below are per $100 of assessed value, from each government’s own published schedule.
| Jurisdiction | Rate per $100 | Year | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loudoun County | $0.805 | Tax year 2026 | Held flat from 2025 |
| Prince William County | $0.865 general levy | Tax year 2026 | Down from $0.906. Fire and rescue and pest levies are additional, plus stormwater and solid waste fees |
| Fauquier County | $0.895 | Calendar 2026 | Cut by 7.2 cents |
| Stafford County | $0.9675 | FY2027 | Raised by 4.39 cents |
| Arlington County | $1.053 | Calendar 2026 | Raised by 2 cents. Separate stormwater utility fee applies |
| Fairfax City | $1.0725 | FY2027 | Stormwater fee $36.02 per billing unit |
| Fairfax County | $1.12 | Tax year 2026 | Plus stormwater $0.0325 and pest control $0.001, so roughly $1.1535 countywide. Add $0.050 in the Tysons district, $0.021 in Reston, $0.105 in the Route 28 district |
| Alexandria City | $1.135 | Calendar 2026 | Flat. Stormwater utility fee $340.30 per unit annually |
| Falls Church City | $1.18 | FY2027 | Cut from $1.185, but assessments rose 6.2% |
| Manassas City | $1.24 | FY2027 | $1.05 base plus a $0.19 fire and rescue levy. The Owens Brooke district adds $0.068 |
| Manassas Park City | $1.395 | FY2026 | A 2 cent reduction was approved for FY2027; confirm the final adopted rate with the city |
| Warren County | $0.569 | FY2027 | Raised by 9 cents |
| Frederick County, VA | $0.53 | Year not stated on the county schedule | No district levies listed |
| Winchester City | $0.795 | Year not stated on the city schedule | Due June 5 and December 5 |
| Clarke County | $0.476 | Calendar 2026 | Raised by 2.5 cents |
| Culpeper County | $0.45 | 2026 | $0.37 base plus $0.08 fire and rescue |
Sources: each jurisdiction’s published tax rate schedule and adopted budget documents for 2026 and FY2027. Fairfax County stormwater and pest levies from the county tax rate table. Confirm the Manassas Park FY2027 rate and the Frederick County and Winchester tax years with those offices before relying on them.
The arithmetic that should change your shortlist
Run the two ends against each other. A buyer at $430,000 in Manassas Park pays tax at roughly $1.395 per hundred, about $6,000 a year. A buyer at $735,000 in Loudoun County pays $0.805, about $5,900 a year. The Loudoun buyer owns a house worth $305,000 more and pays slightly less tax.
What that means in practice. Tax rate is a real component of what you qualify for, not a footnote. On the same loan, moving from Manassas Park to Loudoun frees up several hundred dollars a month of qualifying capacity. Ask for the rate before you fall in love with a listing, and use an affordability check that includes it rather than one that does not.
Fairfax County is the other one worth watching. The advertised rate is $1.12, but the mandatory stormwater and pest levies push the real figure to about $1.1535, and inside the Tysons Service District it reaches roughly $1.2035. The county-by-county detail is in our Northern Virginia property tax rate guide.
What $500,000 and $650,000 actually buy
At $500,000
Five submarkets have a median at or below this figure: Alexandria 22304 at $458,898, Woodbridge 22191 at $499,889, and in the outer ring Fredericksburg City at $479,893, Front Royal at $408,909 and Winchester at $373,804. Everywhere else in Northern Virginia, $500,000 is below the median: $97,000 below Prince William County, $253,000 below Fairfax County, $307,000 below Loudoun and $325,000 below Arlington.
In 22304 the sub-$500,000 stock is overwhelmingly condominium, which is what produces a median that sits $250,000 under the rest of Alexandria. In Woodbridge the same money reaches the median home overall, meaning a townhouse or an older detached house. The condo route is the one that puts you inside the Beltway on this budget, and it is also the segment where inventory grew 41% this year.
At $650,000
This budget clears the median in Prince William County, Stafford County, Manassas City, Dale City, Dumfries, Lorton, Sterling, Culpeper, Warren County, Frederick County, Winchester, Front Royal and Fredericksburg. It lands essentially at the median in Centreville at $657,354 and Reston 20191 at $664,852, both of which have rail.
It sits below the median in Fairfax County, Loudoun, Arlington, Alexandria City, Burke, Springfield, Kingstowne, Herndon and Ashburn. Below the median is not the same as impossible: given that the inventory growth is all attached, $650,000 in Fairfax County in 2026 realistically means a townhouse or an older or smaller detached home rather than nothing at all. In Arlington or inner Alexandria it is largely a condominium budget. See the middle of that range priced out in our payment breakdown on a $500,000 house.
Down payment help you can actually get in 2026
Virginia has one of the better first-time buyer program sets in the country, and most of it is underused because the income limits are higher than people assume. Virginia Housing’s limits for the Washington area took effect on August 1, 2026.
| Program tier | Household size | Income limit | Sales price limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Down payment or closing cost grant | 2 or fewer | $148,000 | $800,000 |
| Down payment or closing cost grant | 3 or more | $174,000 | $800,000 |
| Standard bond loan | 2 or fewer | $186,000 | $800,000 |
| Standard bond loan | 3 or more | $217,000 | $800,000 |
| Expanded, first-time and repeat buyers | Any size | $245,000 | No sales price limit |
Source: Virginia Housing income and sales price limits, effective August 1, 2026. The Washington MSA limit area covers Alexandria, Arlington, Clarke, Fairfax, Fairfax County, Falls Church, Fauquier, Fredericksburg, Loudoun, Manassas, Manassas Park, Prince William, Spotsylvania and Stafford. Culpeper, Warren, Frederick County and Winchester fall in different limit areas with different figures.
A household of three earning $170,000 in Fairfax County qualifies for grant assistance. That surprises nearly everyone we tell, and it is the single most common reason a buyer leaves money on the table.
| Program | What it gives you | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Down Payment Assistance Grant | 2% of the sales price on a bond conventional loan, 2.5% on a bond FHA loan. A true grant, never repaid | Requires a Virginia Housing FHA or conventional bond loan. First-time buyers, or repeat buyers in an Area of Economic Opportunity |
| Closing Cost Assistance Grant | Up to 2% of the purchase price, never repaid | Applies to Virginia Housing RHS and VA loans only. Can cover closing costs, the RHS guarantee fee or the VA funding fee |
| Plus Second Mortgage | Up to 5% of the purchase price, and you may finance up to 1.5% above the purchase price | 30-year fixed, no prepayment penalty. The amount varies with credit score; a 680 or higher score allows financing part of closing costs through the second |
| Mortgage Credit Certificate | Nothing at present | Suspended since May 1, 2023 and still suspended |
Source: Virginia Housing program pages and the Down Payment Assistance Grant flyer revised January 2026.
Local programs, county by county
Several jurisdictions run their own, and they stack differently. These are the published terms.
| Program | Amount | Who qualifies |
|---|---|---|
| Loudoun County Down Payment and Closing Cost Assistance | Up to 10% of the sales price or $70,000, whichever is less. Forgivable over 15 years, no interest | Income $49,850 to $116,299. Must live or work in Loudoun for six months or more. First come, first served |
| Loudoun Public Employee Homeownership Grant | $25,000, forgivable over five years | County government, courts, constitutional officers or Loudoun County Public Schools employees working 20 or more hours a week |
| Alexandria Flexible Homeownership Assistance | Up to $50,000, or up to $75,000 through the Neighborhood Stabilization Program | No interest, deferred, with equity sharing at resale. Only for first-time buyers purchasing through a specific city program |
| Alexandria Employee Homeownership Incentive | Up to $15,000, interest free and deferred | City of Alexandria employees. Maximum home price $725,000 |
| Fairfax County First-Time Homebuyers Program | Access to price-controlled homes, currently around $95,000 to the low $200,000s | Income at or below 70% of area median, minimum household income $25,000, 620 credit score, no ownership in three years. Allocated by random drawing with preference points. Thirty-year resale price control |
| Prince William County First-Time Homebuyers Program | Down payment and closing cost loans, amounts not published | Income at or below 80% of area median under limits effective June 1, 2026. Must live or work in Prince William, Manassas or Manassas Park |
Sources: Loudoun County homeownership loan programs; City of Alexandria homebuyer resources; Fairfax County Department of Housing and Community Development; Prince William County Office of Housing and Community Development.
One to cross off the list. Arlington County’s Moderate Income Purchase Assistance Program, which covers up to 25% of the purchase price, is not accepting applications at present. It still appears on plenty of lists of Northern Virginia assistance programs. Do not build a plan around it.
Assistance stacks with the loan program rather than replacing it, and the loan program is usually where the bigger saving sits. If you are a federal employee, our guide to home loans for federal employees in Northern Virginia covers what your income documentation is worth in underwriting.
And if you have served, a VA loan beats every assistance program on this page, because it removes the down payment entirely rather than helping you find it.
Schools, and the mailing address trap
Northern Virginia has a quirk that costs buyers real money: the postal address on a listing frequently does not match the school division. Virginia’s independent cities run their own divisions, separate from the county that surrounds them, and the postal boundaries do not follow either line.
| If the listing says | The school division is actually |
|---|---|
| Alexandria, VA 22315 (Kingstowne) | Fairfax County Public Schools. The property is in Fairfax County, not the City of Alexandria |
| Falls Church, VA 22044 (Seven Corners) | Fairfax County Public Schools. The property is in Fairfax County, not the City of Falls Church |
| Herndon, Vienna or Clifton | Fairfax County Public Schools. These are towns inside Fairfax County, not separate divisions |
| Fairfax, VA (the city) | A separate division on paper, but Fairfax County Public Schools manages and operates the city schools, hires the staff and develops the curriculum under a services agreement |
| Manassas or Manassas Park | Manassas City Public Schools or Manassas Park City Schools, both separate from Prince William County Public Schools |
| Winchester | Winchester Public Schools, separate from Frederick County Public Schools |
Sources: Virginia Department of Education public school listing by division; Fairfax County Public Schools; City of Fairfax Schools services agreement.
Verify the division and the assigned school with the division’s own boundary locator before you write an offer, not after. It is a five-minute check that occasionally changes which house you buy.
Questions first-time buyers ask
What is the cheapest place to buy in Northern Virginia in 2026?
Inside the Beltway, Alexandria’s Landmark and Van Dorn corridor, ZIP 22304, at a $458,898 median. Outside it, Woodbridge 22191 at $499,889 is the most liquid option. Cheaper still, but much further out, are Front Royal at $408,909 and Winchester at $373,804.
Is it a good time to buy in Northern Virginia?
For a first-time buyer specifically, 2026 is better than 2025 was. Active listings are up 19.6%, the regional median has slipped 1.3%, and condo and townhouse inventory is up 41% and 33% respectively. That is more choice and slightly less competition in exactly the segment a first-time buyer shops. Rates have not helped, and nobody can tell you where they go next.
How much do I need for a down payment?
Less than you have been told. Conventional loans start at 3% down for a qualified first-time buyer, FHA at 3.5%, and VA and USDA at nothing. Layer a Virginia Housing grant of 2% to 2.5% of the sales price on top and the cash requirement gets small quickly. The full comparison is in our guide to down payment requirements in Virginia.
Should I buy a condo or wait for a townhouse?
The 2026 data argues for buying rather than waiting. Detached inventory shrank 2.5% while condo inventory grew 41.1%, so waiting for the detached market to open up means waiting for a trend that is currently running the other way. Condo fees and the project’s financing approval status matter enormously to what you can borrow, so get those checked before you write.
Which entry-level areas have Metro?
Reston 20191 and Herndon 20170 on the Silver Line, Alexandria 22304 at Van Dorn Street, Kingstowne 22315 and Springfield 22150 at Franconia-Springfield. Dale City, Dumfries, Centreville and Sterling have none, and that is the main reason they are cheaper.
What credit score do I need to buy here?
It depends on the program, not the neighborhood. FHA opens at 580 with 3.5% down, conventional generally starts at 620, and VA sets no minimum at all. Pricing improves sharply as the score rises, so the number affects what you pay as much as whether you are approved. See the credit score you need for a mortgage in Virginia.
How long does it take to close in Northern Virginia?
Median days on market in the region was 21 in July 2026, and settlement typically runs 21 to 30 days after ratification for a well-prepared file. The variable is almost always documentation speed rather than the lender. Our closing timeline guide sets out each stage.
Do I have to be a first-time buyer to get help?
Not always. Virginia Housing’s expanded tier, with a $245,000 income limit and no sales price cap, is open to repeat buyers as well. The grants and the standard bond loans are first-time only, though a repeat buyer purchasing in an Area of Economic Opportunity can still reach the down payment grant.
What are the best places to live in Northern Virginia for a first-time buyer?
On a $500,000 to $650,000 budget the realistic list is Alexandria’s Landmark corridor, Woodbridge, Dale City, Manassas, Herndon and parts of Centreville. Each one has rail or a direct commute route, an entry-level housing stock that is actually trading at that price, and a property tax rate that does not quietly erase the savings. The cheapest places to live in Northern Virginia are further out in Prince William and Stafford, and there the trade you are making is commute time, so price the drive before you price the house.
Market figures in this guide are drawn from published sources and carry the period and metric shown beside them. Real estate data is revised, and rolling medians move with the mix of homes that sell. This is general information, not a commitment to lend or an offer of credit. Loans originated by Ken Byrne, NMLS #187129, ALCOVA Mortgage LLC, NMLS #40508. Equal Housing Lender.
Categories
Recent Posts










GET MORE INFORMATION

Broker Associate

